• Hayes Elementary School
    Principal: Alan Hartley
    622 S. Concord St.
    Davenport, Iowa 52802
    Phone: 563-723-6600
    Fax:  563-445-5973

  • News, Events, and Announcements

    April Optimist Awards


    Congratulations to our April nominees for the Optimist Social Skills Awards.  This is our final round of awards this year, and our April crew is one of the best all year!  Here are the nominees by grade level: Evelyn Ibarra-Mendez (PS); Alanon Grady, Lorenzo Frey, Olivia Buckallew (Kindergarten); Jackson Smith, Russell Firsching, David Fletcher (1st); Elisyeh Lewis, Payshence Price, Tim Jett (2nd); Dewey Farmer, LeKayah Pulliam, Shelbee Daniels, Kavianna Thomas (3rd); Kayle Jackson, Mason Ortiz, Delilah LaFrancois (4th); Jackson Hartog, Jada McGauley, Toni Reimers (5th).  Mrs. Gott and Mr. Price also recognized Toni Reimers and Silas Miller with the Golden Hayes High 5 award for their outstanding leadership in Safety Patrol, Green Team, and many other activities!

    5th Grade Project Jack Activities


    The 5th grade classes of Mrs. Smith and Mrs. Simpson were both awarded a small grant through the Project Jack Foundation.  Project Jack is sponsored by the Iowa Realtor’s Association, and is intended for groups to take the grant and use it to give back to the community.  Hayes has previously used a Project Jack grant to help beautify our neighborhood through a day long clean up project.

    Mrs. Smith’s class chose to use their grant to support local homeless animals.  They used the money to sponsor the care for a homeless pet at the King’s Harvest Shelter for

    Spring Book Fair Begins Soon


    Our Spring Book Fair starts on April 25 and runs through May 4th.  Below are the dates and times to stop in and check it out!

    Congratulations Allecia!


    Hayes 5th Grade student Allecia Meraz was recognized by the American Legion on April 9th for winning 1st Place in the American Flag Essay Contest!  Allecia was accompanied by her teacher, Stacy Smith.  She read her essay to a room full of Veterans and did an amazing job!

    March Optimist Nominees


    Congratulations to our March 2018 Optimist Award Nominees.  This month we had another outstanding group of students recognized by their teachers for demonstrating mastery of our Boys Town social skills!  Here are the March Optimist nominees:  Keyra McConnell (PS); Kamryn Taylor, Willow Robbins, Kalynn Hansen (Kindergarten); Madisann Oestern, Bentley Murrow, Kylee Leonard, Blake Houdyshell (1st); Chase Underwood, Pam Gomez, Tony True Meyers (2nd); Isaiah Hoon, Payten Jump, Amia McFulson, Sadie Hanssen (3rd); Piper Bunker, Natalie Peppers, Lily Young (4th); Lucas Sutton, Abby Hill, Haleigh Daniels (5th).

    Mrs. Gott and Mr. Price also recognized Gavin Nelson and Lilianah Creel with the Golden Hayes High Five award for being great role models and respectful examples for all Hayes students.

    Crystal is the BEST!!!


    Congratulations to Crystal Nebinger, head cook at Hayes, for being named the Food & Nutrition Service Employee of the Month. Crystal has gone out of her way to make students feel important and welcomed in the school cafeteria. One of our para’s mentioned that Crystal has changed the atmosphere of the cafeteria. A co-worker that nominated Crystal said that they were impressed by the cleanliness and sanitation improvements that have occurred since Crystal has been here.  Crystal was selected as Employee of the Month prior to the Luau, and this solidified that we Crystal is the right person! Crystal

    Hawaiian Day in the Cafe


    Thursday, February 8th was a normal Iowa winter day.  It was cold and snowing outside, but inside the Hayes Elementary Cafeteria it was as warm and sunny as any day in Hawaii.  Teriyaki Chicken Dippers were the main attraction on the menu, so our head cook Crystal designated it “Hawaiian Day” in the Hayes Cafe.  

    Crystal and her crew decorated our cafe with pineapple centerpieces and a comfy spot for any beach bum.  Miss Mary our secretary, made sure every student had a lei to celebrate our paradise in the middle of a winter storm!  As you can

    Pie in the Face


    During our January Morning Meeting, the “winners” of our Pie in the Face fundraiser received their “prize”!  Students brought in money to fill milk jugs during the month of January to decide who got the pie in the face.  Mr. Tylor was the obvious “favorite”, with students donating over $50 into his jug.  In 2nd place was the 1st Grade Team (Mrs. Choate, Ms. Putman, Mrs. Ripslinger, Mrs. Zindel, Ms. Newman, & Ms. Kerstyn) with over $30.  A very close 3rd with $23 was Miss Meaghan and Miss Nancy in pre-school.  Nine lucky students had their names drawn to

    January Optimist Awards


    On Wednesday, January 31st, we honored another awesome group of students with Optimist Social Skills awards.  Here are this month’s recipients:  Lucas Giebelstein (PS); Rylan Underwood, Sydney Hanssen, Alivia Patterson (K); Benjamin Patnode, Brendan Schmitt, Olivia Follis, Aubrey Sellers (1st); Jersey Holcomb, Ronnie Beamer, Kaide Hawley (2nd); Mersadies Stark, LaBellah King, Dianna Liljequist, Delayja Holt (3rd); Kylie Beauchamp, Abby Peters, Alayna Chrestensen (4th); Linsey Hernandez-Narvaez, Max Webber, Sofia Hernandez (5th).  Mrs. Gott and Mr. Price also recognized two outstanding students for their service to our Hayes Community; Aeries Cregan and Dennis Brooks.  Aeries is on Safety Patrol and Dennis has done a great job in 3rd Quarter as a reader of the morning announcements. 

    December Optimist Awards


    Wednesday, December 20th was a super busy day at Hayes!  In addition to our Morning Meeting and Optimist Awards, we had our all school sing-a-long, December Behavior Incentive, Tommy’s donuts provided by PTO, and classroom Holiday Celebrations!  Our group of Optimist Nominees is an outstanding bunch of students.  They were nominated by their teachers for exemplary demonstration of our 16 Boys Town Social Skills.  Here is the list of nominees:  Kenndal Wallace (PS); Ari’yonna Abbey, Kinidi Struck, Jaimyre Love (K); Jeziah Hughes, Alan Ibarra-Mendez, Blake Houdyshell, Kaden Blake, Russell Bartz (1st); Meadow Dale, Darriyonna Terrell, Hailey McDanel (2nd);  Lillian Coombes, Spencer Holst, Halie Hayes (3rd); Gabby Ortiz, Thomas Navalany, Colton Bogosian (4th); Allecia Meraz, Aeries Cregan, Serena Ladd