Civically Engaged Student Body Highly-Acclaimed Participants in National Academic Competitions State Champion Student Athletes State Champions in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Competitions Top-Notch Art, Music, and Theatre Productions Winners of State Academic Competitions

Remarkable Results

Our Amazing Students, Staff, and Programming

Every day the students, staff and programs of the Davenport Community Schools have an impact in the community and garner national recognition for excellence and innovation in education. The district has received national accolades for its staff, including an Iowa Teacher of the Year, Iowa Principal of the Year, Iowa Central Office Administrator of the Year, Iowa Administrator of the Year and two national Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award winners. The district’s programming is also groundbreaking, with fifteen schools and programs having received Iowa’s First in the Nation in Education (FINE) Award and one of the elementary schools recognized as a national Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education.

We’re extremely proud of our students. The good work they do is a testament to our robust curriculum, technological capabilities, and inspirational environment, but the innate character strengths we see within each student is what is truly remarkable.   Across our district, student groups have taken their own initiative to help out community members in need of assistance.  There are an abundant number of award-winners within our ranks; our students routinely earn accolades related to sports, the arts, core academics, and extracurricular activities.

The hard work that is being done on our data teams is paying dividends.  Everyone — from our most recent graduates to our distinguished alumni — is taking what they have learned from Davenport Community Schools and putting it to work in a world they are helping to shape for the better.

We are Davenport Community Schools… A District of Distinction.




Some of our Outstanding Alumni

Jim Skinner, class of 1962, Chief Executive Officer of McDonald’s Corporation

Roger Craig, class of 1979, 3-time Super Bowl champion

Dana Davis, class of 1997, television actress

Jim Leach, class of 1960, Chair of the National Endowment for the Humanities and former member of the U.S. House of Representatives

Susan Glaspell, class of 1894, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright, actress, director, novelist, biographer and poet

Julian Vandervelde, class of 2006, professional football player

Jim Zabel, class of 1939, radio and television broadcaster; announcer for Iowa Hawkeye football and basketball games

Tom Hudson, class of 1990, co-host of PBS national broadcast “Nightly Business Review”

Elmer Layden, class of 1921, football player and NFL commissioner

© 2017 Davenport Schools
1606 Brady St, Davenport Iowa 52803

Phone: 563-445-5000
Fax: 563-445-5950