l Iowa High School Press Association’s Annual Fall Conference | Central High School
Central High School 22018ericapresentation2018marchingbluedevils22018marchingbluedevils32018marchingband2018sydney2018germanchicagotrip2019historybowl22018overwatchcompetition2018brewer2018antibullypic2018blueillusiondanceteamcomp2018bluellusionsstate2018JROTCRIA2015seeyouatthepole2019getonthebus22018sandiego2Central High School 12018GEARUPDeere2018germanchicagotrip2014JROTCcolorguard2019lovegirlsgala2018smashbrothers2018engineeringexpo2018dennisaward2018mcfate3.jpg2048roboticscompetition2018jrotcUH602018prostartdesmoines22018figgeart2019getonthebus42018prostartmadison2redcarpet32018univisitdavenport_central2018thespiansinternational2018prostartdesmoines2018ericapresentation2018Foodtour2018walkeruncommonstudent2019JROTCreception2018GEARUPDeere2018centralleaders2018jobfair2018nexttonormal2018yearbooknewspaper2018JROTCRIA22018marchingbluedevils2018robotics2018radiumgirls22018armytruck2018iJAGevent2018bluellusionsstate2019historybowl2018robotics2016collegeweek2018gritposter2018jrotcUH60pltw_school_slideshow_image2018cadaverlab2017NHSfundraiser32018yearbookfallworkshop2018drugfreepledge2019getonthebus32019getonthebus2018 Iowa All-State Band
  • Central High School
    Principal: Jon Flynn
    1120 Main Street
    Davenport, Iowa 52803
    Phone: (563) 723-5400
    Fax: (563) 445-5952

  • Iowa High School Press Association’s Annual Fall Conference

    Members of Central’s newspaper and yearbook staff attended the Iowa High School Press Association’s annual fall conference with Ms. Ebener and Mr. Balsar. They attended sessions about journalism topics and listened to keynote speaker Seung Min Kim, Iowa native and current Washington Post reporter. La Della Gallagher and Lily Hessling competed in the news writing on-the-spot competition. The yearbook staff also received the results from their fall yearbook contest entries for their 2019 yearbook, Speak of the Devil.

    • 2nd place for Cover, Makenna Verdon and staff
    • Honorable Mention for Design, Cross Country spread, Afurious Nelson (2019 graduate)
    • Honorable Mention for Photo Illustration, Orchestra poll, Tanner Lebs (2019 graduate)
    • 3rd place for Reader Services, editors Sara Holtam, Tanner Lebs, and staff
    • 1st place for Sports Feature Photo, “Marshall Maniacs” photo, Liam Ehrecke (2019 graduate)
    • Honorable Mention for Student Life Story, “Beat the Heat,” Trinity Brown
    • 3rd place for Theme, “Speak of the Devil,” editors Sara Holtam, Tanner Lebs, and staff
    • Honorable Mention for Total Package spread, Summer Camps spread, Sara Holtam
    • Honorable Mention for Total Package spread, Orchestra spread, Tanner Lebs (2019 graduate)

    All contest awards are from “Class C,” the section of schools with the largest student bodies in the state, so our yearbook went up against some of the biggest and best schools in the state to receive these 1st, 2nd, 3rd place and Honorable Mention awards. Congratulations to all of these hard-working journalists!