firstday62018cafeonvine2017falconfriendscomp2017scholasticbowlmolineinvite22018ijaglobby2017prostartpresentation2016mensing2017thespianbanquet3firstday3firstday52017yearbookfallconference - Copy2018stateofthecityaddresssingers2018youthsummit2017homecomingparade2017ijagsau112017allstatevocalists2018getonthebus22017ijagsau42017drewxcstate2018showchoirtour2017marchingbluedevils2018biology22018balsar2018spree112018BotB32017gliconference2018ijaghyvee42018getonthebusdavenport_central2018highschoolmusical22016prostartchili22017hogtober2016ijagguestspeaker32018alliowahonordanceteam2017fallenwarriorceremony12016collegeweek2017blooddrive4firstday2017cheer72014JROTCcolorguard2016imadevilfirstday42017garbagegobble2017cheerclinic6pltw_school_slideshow_image2016prostartsoybeans2017homecomingcourt2018BotB2018foodpantryvolunteers2017mississippiconference2017 houston fundraiser 22018biologyfirstday2Central High School 2Central High School 12018ijaghyvee6redcarpet32017NHSfundraiser32017jobfair22018BotB22017PSAT2017spanishtrip42017staffvolleyball2017homecomingaud2017quizbowl2015seeyouatthepole2017hungerdrivevisit2017summerblooddrive2018vandervelde2016catchupacademy2018WIUtour2018istepconference2018getonthebus42018prostartcompetition22017harkness22017nexttonormal2
  • Central High School
    Principal: Jon Flynn
    1120 Main Street
    Davenport, Iowa 52803
    Phone: (563) 723-5400
    Fax: (563) 445-5952

  • Iowa High School Press Association Fall Conference

    Members of the Central yearbook staff and newspaper staff attended the annual Iowa High School Press Association Fall Conference at the University of Iowa. Students and advisers attended sessions covering various journalism topics and listened to the keynote speaker. Several students also competed in the on-the-spot photography contest. Students from schools all over Iowa participated in this competition, photographing the convention and submitting their photos for evaluation. Out of the dozens of students who competed, Abby Lance from the yearbook staff received third place.

    The yearbook staff also received the following awards for the 2017 yearbook from the IHSPA in Class C, which is based on school size:

    • Haley Simpson received an honorable mention for her advertising design.
    • Isabelle Kern received an honorable mention for design for her art classes spread.
    • Jack Jurgena and Isabelle Kern received second place for design for the C Term divider.
    • Alina Kobal, last year’s exchange student from Ukraine, and Isabelle Kern received third place for design for the A Term divider.
    • Abby Lance and Kaitlin Trainor received an honorable mention for design for the B Term divider.
    • The staff received an honorable mention for their infographic on the JROTC spread.
    • Abby Lance received third place for her photo illustration on the B Term divider.
    • Jack Jurgena received an honorable mention for his photo illustration on the C Term divider.
    • The staff received third place for their reader services throughout the yearbook.
    • Alina Kobal received an honorable mention for her story on the JROTC spread.

    Congratulations to these journalism students on their recognition from the state competition!