1702 N. Main St.
Davenport, IA

Central & North Compete in Annual Solo & Ensemble State Festival

Central High and North High students racked up impressive ratings at the recent Iowa State Music Association Festival last Saturday. 
North High:
Band: Three Division I Superior ratings, five Division II Excellent Ratings, and one Division III Good rating.
Vocal: Eight Division I Superior ratings, three Division II Excellent ratings, and one Division III Good rating. Senior Leanna Soots received a perfect score on her solo.
Orchestra: Four Division I ratings and three Division II ratings.
Central High:
Vocal: Nearly 100 vocal students competed in the festival with fifty-one of the school’s fifty-seven entries receiving either a Division One “Superior” rating or a Division Two “Excellent” rating.
The following students received a Division I Superior rating on their Solo performance:
9th Grade: Lillie French, Henry Justin
10th Grade: Angela Torres, Madeline Sottos, Meredith Sloat (perfect score), John Zaimes,  Andrew Park, Isabel Wohlwend
11th Grade: Sam Fahrenkrug, Maddi Smith (Perfect Score), Jennifer Mahl, Nick Vazquez, Caroline Justin.
12th Grade: Donna Diggs, Peyton Reese, Alyssa LaRoque, Madi Ferch, Tevin Slawson, Lucas Thompson, and C.J. Parker (perfect score)
The following Ensembles received a Division I Superior rating: 9th women, 9th mixed, Chorale Men, Chorale Women A, Chorale Women B, and Chamber Choir.
Central’s Orchestra students received four Division I Superior ratings, six Division II Excellent ratings, and three Division III Good ratings. Special congratulations goes out to the Chamber Orchestra for their Division I Superior rating in the chamber orchestra category.
Students who earned a Division I Superior rating in one or more events include: Jason Bordine, Meghan Brewster, Isabel Buchanan, Delaney Burkhardt, Emily Diekmann, Lily Jewell, Kylie Latham, Lizzy McDonald, Peter McDonald, Jenny Mahl, Aron Mitchell, Cole Mitchell, Set Morales-Espinosa, Laura Sitz, Meredith Sloat, and Lexis Skiles.
The following entries received a Division I Superior rating for Band:
Soloists: Sierra Craig, Joey Hathaway, Noah Thomas, Emma Berger, Jennifer Mahl, Anna Thompson, Katie Swesey, Mackenna Janz, Adrian Johnson, Caroline Justin, Laura Sitz, Landon Adkins, Charlie Beaver, and Alex Lester.
Duets: Marimba-Landon Adkins & Mackenna Janz; Flute-Aliza Oxyer & Rachel Wernke.
Wind Ensembles: Horn Quartet-Paige Pearson, Ella Durbin, Emma Kleinow, and Kyle Laake.
Percussion Ensemble: Jacob Austin, Courtney Hart, Hope Kealey, Adrian Johnson, Anna Thompson, Landon Adkins, and Mackenna Janz.
Amazing talents one and all – we’re so proud of you!