1702 N. Main St.
Davenport, IA

Davenport Musicians Selected for Regional Honor Band

2017 SEIBA group

On January 6th, 99 Davenport students, representing all intermediate and high schools, traveled to Fairfield, Iowa, along with hundreds of other band students from Southeast Iowa, to participate in auditions for the Southeast Iowa Band Association (SEIBA) Honor Band. These Davenport students went above and beyond what is expected of them.  They practiced advanced musical etudes and scales and demonstrated high levels of musical ability. Their hard work for this audition will continue to pay dividends toward their bright musical futures. A total of 38 students (listed below) were selected after the daylong auditions.  The 19 intermediate and 19 high school students for SEIBA Honor Band have only two weeks to practice the music they received on Saturday. Then they will have one day of rehearsal and perform a concert at Iowa City West High School on Saturday, January 20th. In addition, four intermediate band students were selected as the best players in their Audition Center and will perform in May in the All-Iowa 8th Grade Honor Band at the Iowa Bandmasters Conference in Des Moines (denoted by IBA*). Congratulations to everyone on this outstanding accomplishment!

Sudlow Intermediate: 

Colton Bartels, Percussion, IBA*
Alex Lester, French Horn, IBA*
Danielle Frahm, Clarinet, IBA*
Ethan Belby, Trumpet
Kylen Phillips, Clarinet
Maggie Berger, Clarinet
Mady Dankert, Flute
Katy Mahl, Percussion
MiaJoy Neumeyer, Percussion
Isaac Trosen, Percussion

Creative Arts Academy / Sudlow Intermediate:

Kyle Laake, French Horn

Walcott Intermediate:

Gabby Johnson, Bass Clarinet, IBA*
Kamrin Varela, Flute
Kaitlyn Powell, Flute
Zara Fellman, Clarinet
Kamryn Becker, Clarinet
Alaina Lake, Trumpet
Peyton Flynn, Percussion

Smart Intermediate:

Angelina Ewoldt, Trombone

Central High:

Erin Maxwell, Flute
Joelle Trasowech, Oboe
Jennifer Mahl, Oboe
Laura Sitz, Bassoon (1st Chair)
Emma Berger, Clarinet
Katie Swesey, Bass Clarinet
Hannah Coonfare, Bass Clarinet
Ellis Carlson, Trumpet
John Zaimes, Trumpet
Sierra Robinson, Trombone
CJ Parker, Tuba
Anna Thompson, Percussion
Mackenna Janz, Percussion

West High:

Danielle Stevens, Clarinet
William Zogg, Bari Sax (1st Chair)
Matt Reis, Tuba (1st Chair)
Chase Bruns, Percussion
Michael Hill, Percussion
Sophie Buckley, Alto Sax